Review: 2010 Ford Taurus Limited

At the age of 18, when I finally had a driver’s license, I lacked one important thing: an actual car. Ok, I lacked two important things: an actual car, and actual money. Fortunately, a few years later I was blessed with a hand-me-down. In the summer of 2003 I inherited a 1993 Ford Taurus GL with about 27k miles on it. It served me well during the few years I drove it. My sister drives it to this day, but I am sad to say it may be nearing the end of its useful life.

Not a single aspect of the 2010 Taurus resembles that car. Like the 2010 fusion, the new looks of the 2010 Taurus really caught my attention. The interior of the Taurus Limited resembles that of a luxury car more so than a traditional Taurus. Conveniences include bluetooth, sync, heated and ventilated seats, ambient lighting, and steering wheel mounted paddle shifters, to name a few.

The leather seat was comfortable, with easy adjustment and good support. Honestly, I could have used (and would have expected) more leg and head room in a car this size. Considering my height, however, it was overall quite comfortable. The interior style is very modern but still classy. Some of the radio/nav/climate controls were not as easy to reach from a normal driving position. The ventilated seat was very effective, very quickly.

Operation of the paddle shifters was intuitive and the provided smooth shifts. The V6 will get the car moving, but acceleration might leave enthusiasts with something to be desired. The ride is smooth and comfortable. The Taurus feel nimble and stable for a car it’s size.

I would recommend the Taurus Limited to drivers looking for something that is a step up from your average sedan. It’s got plenty of room, features and makes a pretty bold statement. Be ready to pay closer to $40k if you want the good features. It’s not your traditional Taurus.

[Image: Ford]

Leave a Reply

