Review: 2010 Subaru Legacy 3.6R

Well I decided to go take a spin in an Impreza WRX to see what all the hype was about.  I had high hopes of a comfortable fit and a fun drive.  Sadly (but not surprisingly) the fit wasn’t good enough to warrant a test drive.  I was (again, not surprisingly) disappointed.  Since I had already made the trip I thought, why not give the Legacy a try?  So, I did.  And forgot about the WRX disappointment.

I had seen an older 2.5GT at an autocross race a few years back and thought it was rather cool looking for a sedan.  Since then, the Legacy has always been an option I would consider when the time came to shop for a new set of wheels.  Then I saw pictures of the redesigned body style… not my favorite.  I will say that I like it much better in person, but maybe the excitement of the test drive got the best of me.  The aggressive looks make it feel sporty before you even get in, despite its larger size compared to the Impreza.
The Legacy’s interior is a good match for the exterior: enough flair to keep it interesting, but still quite practical.  Overall craftsmanship and quality appeared to be good, and the controls were laid out in a way that made sense from the driver’s seat.  The head room is plenty for a tall fellow like me, although I wouldn’t have minded a couple more inches of leg room.  This 3.6R was fully loaded with leather, navigation, sunroof and upgraded stereo system.

Alright, enough of that, let’s get it out of the parking lot.  One of the first things I noticed was how smooth the Legacy is.  Engine noise was only noticeably during heavy acceleration.  Neither road nor wind noise were enough to bother me, even at highway speeds.  The suspension is capable of a very comfortable and smooth ride.  It handled the railroad grade crossing, sunken deeply into the pavement, surprisingly well.  It’s a very pleasant car to drive around town.  It would make a good candidate for road trip transportation too, although I had my doubts about the seat being comfortable long term.
As comfortable as the sedan is locally, it seems to have a fun side too.  The salesman said “All Subarus are fun to drive”, after listening to my criteria for an ideal car.  After a few attempts to get the tires to squeal on some twisty backroads, I was very confident in the Legacy’s ability to handle abrupt maneuvers with ease.  It didn’t seem to matter how fast tried to enter or exit sharp turns, it was always ready.
Overall the Legacy’s performance and comfort are impressive.  It offers all the comfort, features, and performance a vehicle in its price range should.  More importantly, if offers almost everything I want.  Yet, there was still something slightly lacking.  Something I couldn’t quite put my finger on.  Even after throwing it through the curves on the back roads, and dropping the hammer getting on the highway, it still left me wanting something more.  Maybe the legacy isolates the driver from the road a little too much.  Maybe I’m not quite convinced I really like the styling.  Maybe I just need to drive it again…
Leave a Reply

