Review: 2010 Audi A4 2.0T Quattro

I’ve been telling myself (and my wife) for while now that I would love to own a European car. Something about them gives me a good vibe. Also, being 6’9″ tall, I need all the leg/head room I can get. The Germans seem to have a reputation for making cars well suited to us taller guys. That would naturally lead me to Mercedes Benz, BMW, Audi, Porshe, and VW. Posrche is out of the question (for now), VW’s tend to be a bit small still, the BWM 3 series is cramped, and Mercedes Benz comes with a big price tag, and a reputation for frequent problems. Although I was skeptical about how well I would fit in an A4, I decided to give one a try. Having one parked in my driveway would bring me great joy.

I arrived at the dealership hoping it would be love at first sight (or sit). I sat down in the black 2.0T sedan and sure enough, I was really surprised by how comfortable I was once I got the seat adjusted to my liking. I was impressed by the amount of leg room and head room. The leather seat was quite comfortable, but lacked the lateral support of others I’ve been in. The rear seats split and fold down completely, expanding the impressively large trunk.

The interior is top notch in terms of luxury and comfort. The center console is packed with features and controls, some of which weren’t extremely easy to use. Climate controls shared a screen that changed depending on what function I wanted to adjust. This could potentially take extra attention away from the road if I needed to, say, turn on the seat heater while driving. The higher end packages offer some nice features related to the stereo, which allow you to upload music file to an internal hard drive, or hook up an iPod and operate it from the steering wheel mounted controls. Comfortable use of the interior features would require some practice for someone not used to them.

The ride and handling were excellent and road noise was barely noticeable. The car feels very stable yet fun to drive. The 4 cylinder with a turbo provides good acceleration, although the automatic transmission shift timing felt unusual to me around town. Fuel economy should be good with the 2.0L engine, although premium gasoline is recommended.

Pros: luxurious interior, exterior styling, cabin noise, comfort

Cons: console controls, good options come with costly package prices

I would love to spend time in a car like this every day. We get enough snow and rain here that AWD is high on my list of wants. I would recommend it to drivers who love the European styling, great technology features and a very smooth, quite ride, and full time AWD. The A4 is also available as a wagon, if you’re into that sort of thing.

[Image: Audi]

Leave a Reply

